Tails From the Swamp

FFfPP-6-3-16

“Tony! Hey Tony!”

“What?”

“You shouldn’t lay out in the sun like that. It’s bad for you. It’ll give you alligator skin!”

Vinnie guffawed loudly at his own joke.

“Oh, you’re hilarious,” said Tony.

“So did ya hear about Bobby?” asked Vinnie.

“Bobby Knuckles? No, what about him?”

“Choked on an egret last night. The bill got stuck sideways in his throat.” said Vinnie.

“No kidding?” asked Tony. “Geez, I just saw him last week.”

“Yeah, I guess he’s floating belly up over by Cypress Log,”

“You know, that happened to me once. Had this pipsqueak youngster gator giving me lip, so I thought, ‘I’ll show you, ya bastard’. I clamped down on his head but started clawing me in the throat.”

“Whadya do?”

“It was instinct. I just let go of him.”

“You let him live? That don’t sound like you.” said Vinnie.

“Yeah well, he don’t come around here no more so… you know.”

“Hehe… nobody messes with Longtooth Tony, that’s for sure,” laughed Vinnie.

For a moment, the two were silent.

“Well, I gotta get back to the nest. Catch you tomorrow?” asked Vinnie.

“Sure thing,”

“See ya later, alligator,” said Vinnie.

He swam away laughing wildly.

Word Count: 200

[This is my entry into the Flash Fiction Challenge for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner by Roger Shipp. Write a story based on a photo prompt and introductory sentence in 200 words or less.]

~V

16 thoughts on “Tails From the Swamp

  1. Hahaha I appreciated all the puns. I love punny things 😀 Idk if this was intentional or just me, but this conversation sounded like a convo between mafia members on a day off. (Maybe it’s the names, Tony and Vinnie?) Anyway, alligator mafia, anyone?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, this really didn’t turn into much of a story. Rather a rare glimpse into the lives of ethnic alligators. But if people are fascinated with the Kardashians, I’m sure mafioso alligators have a shot at a reality tv show. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)