Seeing Double

PHOTO PROMPT – © Sandra Crook
PHOTO PROMPT – © Sandra Crook

“Check out my newest invention, Morty!” exclaimed Uncle Rick as he whisked the sheet off the circular metallic object that held an hourglass figure inside.

“Wow,” gasped Morty. “Is it… a time machine?”

“Of course not,” grunted Uncle Rick. “Time machines are for chumps. This is a quantum oscillator. I can make duplicates of any piece of matter!”

“Anything?” asked Morty. “Even… people?”

Just then Uncle Rick walked into the room. Glaring at his nephew and doppelganger, he asked “Morty, what are you doing in here with my quantum double?”

Morty stared slack-jawed between his two uncles and promptly fainted.

Word Count: 100

[This is my entry into this weeks Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Use the photo prompt to create a short story in 100 words or less.

I thought I’d revisit my buddies Rick and Morty, from “The Road to Hell is Paved with Good Inventions“. The inspiration for the characters comes from the television show “Rick and Morty” on Adult Swim.]

~V

32 thoughts on “Seeing Double

    1. Thanks Lori! I’ve often thought the same thing. If there were two of me, think of what I could get done, but truthfully, my double and I would probably do a lot of binge watching on Netflix together. Oh well… 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: It’s About Time – The Well of Fiction

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

