10K Word Challenge

368069041-writing-clip-art-write-a-book-review-clipart

For the past year or so I’ve been having fun participating in a number of flash fiction weekly challenges. If you’re a regular visitor to my blog, you’ve seen some of my entries. I enjoy writing flash fiction because it’s good practice for learning how to eliminate wasteful words.

I stepped away from writing for a while last year in part because I wanted to get back to working on some bigger projects. Life, it seems, had different plans for me and I stopped writing altogether. Now that I’ve gotten back in the ring, the flash challenges have been a nice way to acclimate myself back into a steady regiment of writing again, but I really don’t want to get sidetracked with just the tiny stories I post here.

Thus, I have entered into my first real writing challenge: The 10K Word Count Writing Challenge at Chapterbuzz.com. Essentially all I need to do is write a story of at least ten thousand words by the end of March. That averages to about 323 words per day. Should be a piece of cake.

I’m doing this in preparation for this years NaNoWriMo which I’ve decided to enter.

So if you want to follow my work, here is the link for Chapter 1 of a story I call “The Ghoul of Grassville”. I hope you enjoy.

~V

5 thoughts on “10K Word Challenge

  1. I think this is an awesome idea! Personally, I’m not a fan of NaNoWriMo and similar writing challenges where the goal is a certain number of words. It doesn’t work for the way I like to write and for me, challenges like this diminish inspiration for me. I feel way too pressured to write freely.

    That being said, I do think challenges like these work for others, so I wish you all the luck Chris! I took a look at Chapter 1 of The Ghoul of Grassville and the synopsis is pretty intriguing off the bat. There were some parts that I felt deterred from the chapter’s flow (for ex: “I’m not sulking, Logan,” Jacob said turning to look at his older sibling. “It’s just…” Jacob’s voice trailed off. -> The ellipses indicate that Jacob is trailing off, so the sentence afterwards is a little redundant), but I know challenges like these aren’t about a perfect first draft, so I won’t nitpick…too much :p!

    Hope you keep it up and I’ll be sure to pop by to see your progress 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good feedback, Jade. I agree. Feel free to give me more. I’ve never done a challenge like this before so I’ll see if it works for me. I admit that I’ve been sitting on this story for over a week now and have been procrastinating and the challenge got me started, so perhaps I’ll get the results I want. Thanks again for your input.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been doing Project 10K with Gabi at Fights of Fancy since we did Camp NaNo together, and it definitely helps push me some months. It helps that we allow editing to count toward the goal. That’s the problem I had with NaNo last November — I don’t need another 50K words added to my novel, I need 100K edited OUT! But I’m looking forward to being in a better stage with the next project to do NaNo and/or Camp NaNo again in the future.

    Good luck with your writing goal!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Joy. I saw that Gabi was doing that Project 10K (found it after I saw the other one) but figured I’d stick with one for now. 10K shouldn’t be difficult but I thought it would be good to try something easy first just to see how I liked it. I figure I’ll hit 10K soon and like you said, spend the rest of the time editing. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It wouldn’t work for me to aim for 10K of new words on a single story each month, because most of the short stories I write are much shorter than that. (Now that I think about it, 10K is really long for a short story…) And like I said, I need fewer / different words in my novel, not more. So I like the P10K version because I can combine the words from all my stories and flash fiction along with the editing on my novel. It’s all writing, right? The one you’re doing does seem like a good way to get a new story or two written every month. I hope it works for you!

        Liked by 1 person

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

