If It Ain’t Broke

© A Mixed Bag
© A Mixed Bag

“One martini, two martini, three martini four,” chanted Elijah with slurred but measured speech. “There’s nothing the day can throw at you that a good drink can’t fix!”

He plunked himself down on the couch without spilling a drop while ignoring Rosie’s intent glare.

“Drunk already?” Rosie asked. “Why am I not surprised?”

The question was rhetorical but Elijah replied, “Because my dear, you know everything. At least, that’s what you’re always saying.”

“Father said you’d never amount to…”

Elijah cut her off.

“Yes, your father knew even more than you, didn’t he? What a fount of wisdom he was.”

“Leave my father out of this,” Rosie cried.

“But you brought hi…” Elijah hiccupped, “Him up.”

The two stared at each other in practiced silence. Their faces were stone. Finally, Rosie turned and stormed from the room.

Young Alexander, who’d been sitting quietly the during this exchange found the courage to speak.

“I had no idea you had such a terrible marriage. Have you considered divorce?”

Elijah responded, “Terrible marriage? Divorce? Are you mad? I love that woman more than words can express. Who else would tolerate an obnoxious drunk like me?”

Elijah laughed heartily as he downed his drink.

Word Count: 200

[This is my entry into the Sunday Photo Fiction challenge, hosted by Alastair Forbes. Write a short story of 200 words or less from the photo prompt provided.

This wasn’t so much a story as just practice writing some dialogue so forgive me for that. I just couldn’t get Elijah and Rosie out of my head. Their brief exchange wouldn’t allow any other stories to come through so I decided to give them a spotlight for a moment.]

 

14 thoughts on “If It Ain’t Broke

  1. The dialogue between Elijah and Rosie felt very real to me. I like the interruptions and illogical bits (e.g, she brings up her father then tells him not to talk about him) — just enough to seem realistic without getting too chaotic to understand. You effectively paint the scene, of how Elijah is seen by Rosie but how he sees it differently.

    I was thrown off by Alexander’s voice though; his words sounded more formal and adult than “young” would imply, and I wondered how he hadn’t noticed before now that his parents had a lousy marriage.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well in this case “young” is relative. I imagined that Elijah and Rosie were probably in their late 50’s or early 60’s and Alexander is in his early 20’s. He’s also just an associate of Elijah. No relation.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol… Yeah, I think their marriage is probably one of convenience rather than love. Then again, some people express themselves in strange ways. I knew a couple like Elijah and Rosie. Argued constantly but wouldn’t have changed anything about their relationship.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, personally I can’t imagine being in that kind of marriage where we argue all the time. Playful bickering is one thing, but straight out arguing? No thanks. Still, like you said, everyone wants something different. To each their own 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

