Can’t We All Get Along?

FFfPP-4-8-16

“Lars, what’s that peculiar smell?”

Oh, that’s my new musk I’m trying on for my date tonight with Lenora,” replied Lars. “Nice, isn’t it?”

“Well uh,” said Sven, blinking rapidly to ease the burning in his eyes.

“Yeah, she’ll love it!” grinned Lars splashing on the pungent liquid.

“Are you sure that it’s wise for you to go out on a date with her?” asked Sven. “I mean after all, she’s a…”

“Leo?” asked Lars. “And I’m a Pices. Yeah, I know, not the best mix.”

I was going to say ‘lion’,” replied Sven. “And you’re a meerkat. I think that’s a worse mix.”

Lars turned to his roommate. “I can’t believe it,” he replied. “I never had you pegged as a bigot.”

“Bigot? Seriously?”

“You need to learn tolerance, my friend. Embrace diversity.” huffed Lars indignantly.

“Lars, she’s a lion! A carnivore!”

“Oh, so now carnivores aren’t people, is that what you’re saying? Where is this hate coming from?” asked Lars.

“Lars… she’ll eat you! Haven’t you seen how she looks at you when you walk by her cage?” shouted Sven.

“She’s hot for me alright,” grinned Lars. “Well, be seeing you.”

But Sven didn’t see Lars. Ever again.

Word Count: 200

[This is my entry into the Flash Fiction Challenge for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner by Roger Shipp. Write a story based on a photo prompt and introductory sentence in 200 words or less.]

~V

7 thoughts on “Can’t We All Get Along?

  1. Great take. Funny too. Lars isn’t to bright is he. Good for his friend Sven trying to tell him the truth but Lars didn’t see the writings on the wall. Oh well, poor Lenora had to eat something dossed in Cologne.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no, that last line made me feel so sorry for poor Lars. Though I guess there’s something quite Darwinian about the whole thing πŸ™‚ I’m surprised his musk didn’t send Lenora running for the other end of her cage,

    Liked by 1 person

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

