Fertilizer

PHOTO PROMPT – © Ted Strutz
PHOTO PROMPT – © Ted Strutz

The scrapyard was littered with about every object one could imagine. Beat up bicycle frames, refrigerators, ovens, washing machines all dotted the landscape. I even spotted an old Franklin stove.

“Carburetor for a ’72 Chevy Nova, huh?” asked Rufus, the establishment proprietor. “Yeah, I’ve got one. Be right back.”

As I waited a dash of color caught my eye. To my left was an old toilet filled with multi-colored pansies. When Rufus returned, I pointed to his planter.

“Great idea. Fill an old toilet with potting soil and plant flowers,” I smiled.

“Potting soil?” he asked, frowning.

My stomach lurched.

Word Count: 100

[This is my entry into this weeks Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Use the photo prompt to create a short story in 100 words or less.]

20 thoughts on “Fertilizer

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

