The Mysterious Case of SHC

Β© A Mixed Bag
Β© A Mixed Bag

“Honestly Ben, you act like I’m punishing you!” exclaimed Carol as she stepped from the car.

“I told you that I really don’t feel comfortable in a church. You know I’m an atheist.” replied Ben, peering up at the tall brick building hesitantly.

“Yes, but I told you, my family is deeply religious and won’t approve of me dating someone who isn’t. Can’t you at least give it a try?” she implored, giving him those puppy dog eyes he loved.

“I just…” he paused, words failing him.

“Oh come on,” she smiled, grabbing his arm. “What are you afraid of? Do you think you’ll catch fire if you walk inside?”

Ben chuckled nervously.

The couple walked briskly to the front of the Grace Chapel. Ben paused, still unsure. Carol yanked his arm and led him forward.

Through the large doors Ben could see the huge cross looming above the dais. He sighed.

Crossing the threshold, a massive burst of hellish flame engulfed him. Carol screamed, flinging herself away, her dress alight. In seconds, Ben was a smoking pile of ash.

A white-haired older man standing nearby turned at the noise. Seeing the flames he shook his head sadly.

“Another atheist.”

Word Count: 200

[This is my entry into the Sunday Photo Fiction challenge, hosted by Alastair Forbes. Write a short story of 200 words or less from the photo prompt provided.]

~V

12 thoughts on “The Mysterious Case of SHC

    1. I try to tread carefully around religion in my fiction (not so much in my non-fiction). I have no idea why this popped into my head today but I thought I’d take a chance and see how it went. Glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

