Sneaky

FFfPP-2-12-16

For the thousandth time, I promise you, it wasn’t me!” shouted Randall, his frustration with his mother rising.

“Oh, I suppose the dog ate the entire box of cookies and then put the empty package into the garbage!” shouted his mother.

“I don’t know,” sulked Randall. “Maybe.”

They both looked down at Diego, their new black lab puppy. He returned their stare with soft, curious eyes.

“I just don’t know what has gotten into you,” said his mother, shaking her head. “You’ve been so destructive lately. What about the bathroom incident?”

“I told you, that wasn’t me either,” exclaimed Randall, exasperated.

“Right, the dog turned on the water in the bathtub and flooded the bathroom. Is that your excuse? I suppose he ate the homework you didn’t do all of last week.”

“I did my homework. I don’t know what happened to it. Jeez, why don’t you believe me?”

“You know what?” sighed his mother, throwing up her arms. “Just go to your room.”

Randall stormed off as his mother headed in the opposite direction towards the liquor cabinet to fix herself a cocktail.

Diego belched loudly. Those cookies had been delicious.

Word Count: 193

[This is my entry into the Flash Fiction Challenge for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner by Roger Shipp. Write a story based on a photo prompt and introductory sentence in 200 words or less.]

~V

15 thoughts on “Sneaky

  1. Cute story! It reminded me of when my youngest brother was about 5 years old he opened something in the kitchen. Our dad came in and wanted to know who opened (whatever it was, I don’t remember) and my little brother said, “A little black dog did.” Hahaha!

    Like

  2. Poor boy. Dogs can be sneaky, they often appear guilty, but not always. One Christmas I got some excellent Purdy’s chocolate, different mint chocolates that I love. I left them in a gift box on the floor. Came home after a visit to my Godparents, all the mints except for a few in the bottom were gone. I thought someone from my family had eaten or hidden my chocolate. Indeed, it was the dog who was as always just happy to have us home. Great story and very true.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

