Dead Air

Dead Air

Just as I was drifting off to sleep my phone rang. The caller ID showed it was my parents number. I considered letting it go to voice mail, but a call this late at night was never good.

“Hello?”

“Oh thank God you’re there!” my mother sobbed. “I just had to most horrifying experience.”

“Mom?”

“I know this sounds crazy… but I just finished speaking to your father on the phone. Don’t ask me how. I know it’s impossible, but he was there on the line. I know it was him.”

“Mom, how…” I began.

“Do you believe in ghosts, Brandon? Do you think it’s possible for the people we love to come back from the dead? Or maybe they just linger, never able to pass on.”

She was starting to calm down.

“Mom, this can’t be…” I choked.

“I know baby, I know. I miss him so much. You probably think it’s all my imagination, but I swear, it really happened.” She sighed.

“Anyway, it’s late and I’m sure I must be keeping you from getting some sleep. I’m sorry to bother you with this. You go to bed, honey. I love you.”

“Mom? Mom are you there?”

There was no response. I pressed the red button on my phone and disconnected the call. My hands trembled as I sat in bed, holding my phone.

The screen in my hand lit up as my parents ringtone sounded again. I didn’t want to answer, but my thumb jabbed the answer button before my mind could stop me.

“Hello?”

“Brandon, it’s dad. I’m sorry if I woke you. It’s just…” my father’s voice faltered.

“I know dad. I just spoke with her.”

There was a long silence. What do you say when your dead mother calls you in the middle of the night?

[This is another attempt at the “Creepy” sub-genre of horror. It’s a variation of the late night scary phone call. You can read my first attempt in Night Caller.

Speaking with the dead by phone isn’t exactly an original concept. The image for this story that I used was from a Twilight Zone episode titled “Night Call” which was in turn based on the short story by Richard Matheson “Sorry, Right Number“. I was playing around with this idea to see if I could fit in the twist at the end without making the story seem trite and predictable. I guess you can let me know how I did. Writing really good horror is very difficult, especially since audiences today are so jaded. Thank you for your patience as I practice.]

~V

 

2 thoughts on “Dead Air

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

