A Hard Road to Walk

PHOTO PROMPT- © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields
PHOTO PROMPT- © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

It was an early morning yesterday.

I was up before the dawn…”

Supertramp played quietly in the background as I stared out the kitchen window. Laura always loved this song. Tears welled in my eyes again.

No, not again. I can’t keep doing this,” I thought bitterly.

She was gone and the only direction I was allowed to go was forward. Why is it so hard? Why even bother?

Footsteps on the stairs heralded my reason for living.

“Good morning daddy.” said Tonya sleepily.

I turned and hugged her tightly.

“Good morning baby.”

Life would be hard but I wasn’t alone.

Word Count: 101

[This is my entry into this weeks Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Use the photo prompt to create a short story in 100 words or less.]

~V

 

9 thoughts on “A Hard Road to Walk

  1. Pingback: No More Crying For the Dead | Dumasaphobic Diatribes

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

